Gerry Gaydos Receives Award of Merit from the Oregon State Bar

The Award of Merit is the highest honor that the bar can bestow. This award is given to those who have made outstanding contributions to the bench, bar and community, and who exhibit the highest standards of professionalism.

Throughout his career, Gerry Gaydos has been an example of commitment, dedication and professionalism to his clients, colleagues and community. He was elected to his first term on the OSB Board of Governors in 2002. During his second term he chaired the Policy and Governance and Public Affairs Committees and served as president in 2009.

Prior to his board membership, he was a member of the CLE and Affirmative Action Committees and chaired the Business Law Section. He has facilitated Understanding Reacism classes and participated in the OSB Diversity Section’s Best Practices Committee. He currently chairs both the OSB Mentoring Task Force and the Court Fees Task Force. His civic activities in the Eugene-Springfield community include serving for several years on the board of directors of Downtown Eugene, Inc, Sacred Heart Foundation, Metropolitan Affordable Housing, Birth to Three, Lane Transit District and other communtiy organizations.

He is a co-founder and past president of the City Club of Eugene, past president of the Eugene Chamber of Commerce, and past president of the Eugene Family YMCA. He currently serves as the president of United Way of Lane County Board of Directors. Gerry has received many awards for his dedicated community service, including the 1998 Paul Ulum Outstanding Volunteer Award, 1999 City Club of Eugene Turtle Award, 2003 Birth to Three Champion of Children Award and the 2006 Lane Council of Governments Civic Achievement Award. Earlier this year, Gerry was presented with the Lane County Bar Association Distinguished Service Award. This award is given to an individual who has provided extraordinary service to the legal profession and the people of Lane County. He is a strong supporter of the Lane County Bar’s Racial and Ethnic Bias Committee, serving as its chair for several years.